Who is Marvel’s angry, metal ‘Avengers: Age of Ultron’ madman — and why does he hate you?

3786110-the-avengers-film-still

When Marvel’s The Avengers was first released I absolutely loved it for everything it brought to the experience of going to the movies. After contemplation and rewatching it I didn’t enjoy it that much. Since then I’ve seen 3 other Marvel movies and only being slightly impressed by one. With the next film, Guardians of the Galaxy, I’m hoping for the best but based on my experience I can’t say I’m excited. Now onto Avengers: Age of Ultron. Based on the picture and synopsis I’m hoping that the experience is similar to the first film but this time I’m going to keep my expectations to a minimum just so I don’t dislike it. I’ll give it a chance and hope it is good but only time will tell.

David Cronenburg, A Director of Weird and Unusual Cinema

macleans

What’s there to say about David Cronenberg that hasn’t been said already. I’m a huge fan of his older work, specifically Videodrome and The Fly, but lately he hasn’t impressed me. None of his movie are bad per say but just not what I’ve come to love about his body of work. Cosmopolis was boring and pretentious, even if Robert Pattinson gave a good performance. Same goes with A Dangerous Method, it was too ponderise and talky and by the end I lost interest in the movie as a whole. I think that he has gravitated towards movie that appeal to him but also the Academy voters. That’s not to say it’s a bad route to go down, especially at an older age, but I miss the movies he did at the start of his career. I just picked up Scanners on Criterion blu-ray and am extremely excited to watch it. I like the way he hides his messages within a deeply complex frame work. Videodrome is the prime example of this. It makes a resounding statement about the effects of television before the problem even existed. I’m willing to give some of his movies a second chance to see the greatness that lies beneath the surface.  He isn’t a director for everyone and his movies are certainly polarizing but if you give him  chance you can find great meaning within his films.