Toronto Film Festival Lineup Includes Denzel Washington’s ‘Equalizer,’ Kate Winslet’s ‘A Little Chaos’

Sadly I won’t be able to attend this film festival which I would love to go to one day but what I can admire is the lineup. Foxcatcher is easily becoming on of my most anticipated of the year. I’m slightly surprised by The Equalizer making the line up. I haven’t much about this movie but Antoine Fuqua isn’t someone who usually in these major film festivals. Is it that good? Lets hope cause I wouldn’t mind a great action movie. There are some exclusions that bug me but those movies are premiering at The New York Film Festival so I can’t be too upset.

Marvel Will Not Move ‘Captain America 3’ for ‘Batman V. Superman’

This could either be a good thing or a bad thing. Snagging release dates this early is somewhat important now and the first weekend of May is probably the most important one to snag early on. It now looks like the first weekend in May 2016 is going to be the most crowded day of the year. Captain America 3 seems like a sure thing to gross over a 100 million that weekend but at the same time Batman V. Superman comes out the same day and that might cause some problems. Superhero movies are the cornerstone of box office revenue now a days and when you have to competing on the same weekend and appealing to the same audience than one is going to make and the other will fail or both with fail. I don’t see it happening any other way. The both would do big business but not if they are competing on the same weekend with the same crowd. This is the problem with the marketplace today, you either go big or go home and with two big studio unwilling to change the release date they both are going to lose a load of potential business.