Just how bad is this summer’s Hollywood box-office slump?

6a00d834515bc269e201a3fcf306fb970b

Just from my experience the summer blockbusters this year have been slightly miserable. I haven’t them all but I saved myself from certain movies and took close looks at what I saw. Every big movie in May opened really high and dropped off like a rock. June had a few hits while a big box office failure by the name of How to Train Your Dragon 2 and that’s surprising to me. So far Edge of Tomorrow, X-Men: Days of Future Past and Dawn of the Planet of the Apes are my favorite blockbusters to come out but one isn’t doing well box office wise and the other only just started it’s run. Films are starting to become more expensive and lasting theaters for only a couple weeks. Now most movies make a lot of money opening weekend and then drop significantly. With budgets so high and marketing matching the budget, it take more money to make the studio profit. Movies like The Amazing Spider-Man 2 cost more than 250 million dollars and only making 700 million doesn’t work well in the end. The invest the studio are putting into these movies aren’t paying off as one would expect. Could this be the decline of the big budget movie or just a fluke? To me it might just be a fluke but I don’t know at this point.