I quit reporting about the box office number because nothing looked to outpace The Dark Knight Rises but this weekend is the first time a movie looks to be able to beat it. The Bourne Legacy may be a sequel to the Bourne Trilogy but it is lacking the main character which I feel is really going to make this movie a bit different from the rest. I have some hope for the movie but it never really sparked my interest like the other film, is it that Matt Damon is no long the lead I think so. It is going to be tough to tell if this movie is going to be any where close to the others. Another release this week is The Campaign which really sparked my interest since I tend to enjoy Will Ferrell comedies and this looks to follow in line with the rest of his movie. The Other Guys opened around the same time two years ago and I can see The Campaign replicating some of the same success. It is not going to be nearly as successful as as the surprise hit Ted that opened earlier this summer but I know it will be more successful then both That’s My Boy and The Watch, both were considered failures and both were R-rated comedies with big stars leading both movies. It looks to me that The Dark Knight Rises is not going to be as successful as it’s predecessor or The Avengers, which is sad since I thought it was a solid movie and probably the best of the summer. I don’t if the Aurora shooting had an effect or people just didn’t flock out to see this like The Dark Knight. I still see it at least making a billion dollars worldwide, more than the Dark Knight internationally but not domestically which i think will be close to 450-500 million. In my eyes The Dark Knight Rises is still a success and the second best movie in the trilogy, which is difficult to decide since it is such a fantastic trilogy with no weak links in the trilogy. This weekend is going to be a big one for me since I have to see Total Recall, Bourne Legacy, and The Campaign and it is hard to decide which one I’ll see during the weekend and what two I’ll see during the week. With summer coming to an end I would like to see what movie in August can make it big and which don’t (sorry Total Recall you are going into the bomb category following the likes of Battleship and John Carter).

Leave a comment