The Amazing Spider-Man Review

The Amazing Spider-Man

Directed by: Marc Webb

Starring: Andrew GarfieldEmma StoneRhys IfansMartin SheenSally Field

Out of all of the comic book movies that came out this year I was not really anticipating this one all that much, I don’t know for some reason I was eagerly waiting for Ghost Rider Spirit of Vengeance. I think going in with as little expectations as possible really made me enjoy the movie even more. I was always a fan of Spider-Man and really enjoyed wait Sam Raimi brought to the table, even though I didn’t like Tobey Macguire or Kirsten Dunst as their respective roles. I, like many comic book fans, didn’t think that rebooting Spider-Man only 5 years after the last installment was a good idea and was only a cash grab by Sony but I do have to say that the movie really was better than I had expected from it. The strongest aspect of the movie was the relationship between Peter Parker and Gwen Stacy, both Andrew Garfield and Emma Stone fit the roles perfectly and I give them a lot of credit for the movie success. After 3 films and the introduction of Curt Conners in the original films we finally get to see the Lizard on the big screen  and the result was a well done character that could have used a little more development but ultimately was a great villain to add to the movie. The visual effect were quite impressive to say the least and the Lizard was really convincing on the big screen, as well as the 3D which is probably one of the best since the format made a comeback in 2009 with Avatar and it shows that 3D has some true potential.

“The Amazing Spider-Man” is the story of Peter Parker (Garfield), an outcast high schooler who was abandoned by his parents as a boy, leaving him to be raised by his Uncle Ben (Sheen) and Aunt May (Field). Like most teenagers, Peter is trying to figure out who he is and how he got to be the person he is today. Peter is also finding his way with his first high school crush, Gwen Stacy (Stone), and together, they struggle with love, commitment, and secrets. As Peter discovers a mysterious briefcase that belonged to his father, he begins a quest to understand his parents’ disappearance – leading him directly to Oscorp and the lab of Dr. Curt Connors (Ifans), his father’s former partner. As Spider-Man is set on a collision course with Connors’ alter-ego, The Lizard, Peter will make life-altering choices to use his powers and shape his destiny to become a hero.

Personally my major problem with the movie was the story, not because it was bad or anything it was just lacking compared to some of the earlier films. I think that leaving the question of what happened to Peter’s father was not the best way, I was expecting them to answer it in this film but if they keep it in the sequels it can really become an interesting way of making a Spider-Man trilogy. There was a lot that I ended up liking about this film and I am glad to say that I was pleasantly surprised with the outcome and I can’t way to see what this trilogy will be able to put out.

9 out of 10

Related articles

4 thoughts on “The Amazing Spider-Man Review”

  1. I do not write many responses, but I browsed some of the responses on this page The Amazing Spider-Man Review The Visionary Film Fanatic. I actually do have 2 questions for you if it’s allright. Could it be only me or do some of these remarks look like they are written by brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are posting on additional sites, I would like to follow you. Could you post a list of the complete urls of all your social pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  2. Everything published made a bunch of sense. However, consider this, what if you typed a catchier title? I mean, I don’t want to tell you how to run your blog, but suppose you added a title to possibly grab a person’s attention? I mean The Amazing Spider-Man Review The Visionary Film Fanatic is a little vanilla. You might glance at Yahoo’s front page and note how they write news headlines to get viewers to click. You might try adding a video or a related pic or two to grab readers interested about what you’ve written. Just my opinion, it could make your posts a little bit more interesting.

Leave a Reply

