Prometheus Review

Prometheus

Directed by: Ridley Scott

Starring: Noomi Rapace, Charlize Theron, Michael Fassbender, Idris Elba, Logan Marshall-Green

A team of scientists journey through the universe on the spaceship “Prometheus” on a voyage to investigate Alien life forms. The team of scientists becomes stranded on an Alien world, and as they struggle to survive it becomes clear that the horrors they experience are not just a threat to themselves, but to all of mankind.

There is a lot more to the story than this but I would like to keep as little spoilers as I can, though there will be one of two here or there.

Right after The Dark Knight Rises this was the movie that I was looking forward to the most this year, not just because I am a huge fan of the original Alien movie and it’s sequel Aliens but the fact that the trailers and the marketing made the film look incredible tense and a nice addition to Ridley Scott’s already impressive resume. With expectation as high as mine, there was a good chance that the movie may end up disappointing but in the case of Prometheus that was not the case and it actually turned out better than I was hoping it would. I found that the movie was able to stand on it’s own even with the many connections to the Alien franchise and was able to capture everything that I loved about the original while also adding on a philosophical theme about the creation of mankind and Darwinism vs. Creationism, without leaning in either direction and making it seem that both idealisms are right in their own ways. With what David (Michael Fassbender) said in the movie “Big things have small beginnings”, it makes you really think how that applies to the creation of humanity and the differences between evolution and creationism. Rather than being a straight forward horror/science fiction film it ends up being a movie that makes you think, like Inception, and ask why The Engineers had such hatred and the instinct to eradicate all of human kind, which doesn’t get answered which is for the best, and I think that is why the movie stood out to me and why I enjoyed the movie as much because I like to think.

There is a lot to admire about this film from the beautiful landscape to some of the best visuals effects that I have ever seen, excluding Avatar of course. The opening sequence alone was a beautiful montage of the Icelandic, where the movie was filmed, mountains and waterfalls and the images are just as beautiful throughout the film. The tension of the movie is not as present as it is in Alien but it does have it’s number of scares and some pretty gruesome imagery, including as very intense C-section scene that was pretty disturbing but fit into the movie that I don’t see it not being an intricate part to the story. The acting as well was top notch from Noomi Rapace and Charlize Theron both making their characters interesting and fresh, while most of the other cast is pretty much expendable, Idris Elba is another fantastic actor that really brought depth to his character and not some useless pilot. The best actor out of the bunch is Michael Fassbender who stole the show as David, who tries to learn what it means to be human since he is an android. He really made the character believable with the way he talked and moved made it seem like he was a robot.

From what I have said this movie is much better than expected but I feel that it may not be the movie that people thought it would be. It is not the typical horror movie but instead it is a movie that makes you think and will stay with you long after the movie is over, maybe requiring more than one viewing which is what I intend on doing.

10 out of 10

29 thoughts on “Prometheus Review”

  1. Pretty element of content. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and in accession capital to claim that I get actually loved account your weblog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing for your feeds or even I fulfillment you get right of entry to consistently quickly.

  2. You can certainly see your skills within the work you write. The sector hopes for more passionate writers like you who aren’t afraid to mention how they believe. Always follow your heart.

  3. Pretty component of content. I just stumbled upon your site and in accession capital to assert that I acquire actually enjoyed account your weblog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing for your feeds or even I fulfillment you get right of entry to constantly quickly.

  4. Wonderful post, very informative. I’m wondering why the opposite experts of this sector do not realize this. You must continue your writing. I’m confident, you have a great readers’ base already!|What’s Happening i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve discovered It positively helpful and it has helped me out loads. I hope to contribute & help different users like its aided me. Good job.

  5. I’ve been browsing on-line greater than 3 hours these days, yet I never discovered any fascinating article like yours. It’s pretty value sufficient for me. Personally, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content material as you probably did, the web will probably be a lot more useful than ever before.

  6. I just like the helpful info you provide on your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again right here regularly. I’m reasonably certain I will be informed plenty of new stuff proper here! Good luck for the following!

  7. I just want to mention I’m all new to weblog and absolutely liked this blog site. Almost certainly I’m likely to bookmark your website . You certainly have amazing stories. With thanks for sharing with us your web page.

  8. I just want to tell you that I’m newbie to blogging and site-building and certainly enjoyed your blog. More than likely I’m want to bookmark your blog . You actually come with impressive article content. Kudos for sharing with us your blog site.

  9. I simply want to say I am very new to blogging and site-building and definitely enjoyed your web-site. More than likely I’m planning to bookmark your website . You absolutely come with terrific articles. Thanks for sharing your web site.

  10. I am just commenting to make you understand of the perfect experience my girl undergone browsing yuor web blog. She mastered several issues, which included how it is like to possess a wonderful giving character to let a number of people without hassle learn specific complex matters. You undoubtedly did more than visitors’ expectations. Many thanks for churning out the good, dependable, informative and in addition fun guidance on this topic to Evelyn.

  11. I would like to get across my affection for your generosity in support of men and women that require guidance on this important issue. Your special dedication to getting the message all through had been incredibly informative and have constantly allowed most people like me to achieve their aims. Your important guide entails a great deal a person like me and especially to my office workers. Thanks a ton; from everyone of us.

  12. My spouse and i got so happy when Michael could conclude his reports because of the precious recommendations he gained using your blog. It’s not at all simplistic to simply possibly be giving out tips which often other people may have been selling. And now we consider we have the website owner to appreciate because of that. The main explanations you’ve made, the easy web site navigation, the friendships your site aid to foster – it’s got all overwhelming, and it is making our son and the family do think this content is entertaining, which is highly serious. Thanks for all the pieces!

  13. My brother suggested I might like this web site. He was entirely right. This post truly made my day. You cann’t imagine just how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  14. My brother recommended I might like this website. He was entirely right. This post actually made my day. You cann’t imagine just how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  15. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  16. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital to assert that I get actually enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

Leave a Reply

