21 Jump Street Review

21 Jump Street

Directed by: Phil Lord and Chris Miller

Starring: Jonah Hill, Channing Tatum, David Franco

From the start I was very concerned for this movie, based off a show that I found extremely corny, the premise didn’t strike me as all that great to start off with and the fact Channing Tatum was in it, I have nothing against him I just haven’t found him to be that great an actor. I need to give this movie credit for changing a dated premise and turn it into one of the funniest movies that I’ve seen. Learning what was truly in store for me once I left the theater I was great surprised, it exceeded all my expectations. The movie itself is about the change of times and how we learn to coop with them, it really is a movie centered around the high school experience and greatly succeeds at making things look more modern and fresh from a show that was very 80’s and did not hold up well with time.

When cops Schmidt (Jonah Hill) and Jenko (Channing Tatum) join the secret Jump Street unit, they use their youthful appearances to go under cover as high-school students. They trade in their guns and badges for backpacks, and set out to shut down a dangerous drug ring. But, as time goes on, Schmidt and Jenko discover that high school is nothing like it was just a few years earlier — and, what’s more, they must again confront the teenage terror and anxiety they thought they had left behind.

What really stood out for me were the performances from the two main actors, Jonah Hill and Channing Tatum, who had a weird amount of chemistry between them which effectively made their characters more believable. This is the first time that I have really enjoyed a performance from Channing Tatum, who I never felt was that good, he played the character with ease and successfully showed me that he can be a good actor and one that could do well in these kinds of comedies. Another thing was the amount of pop culture references was surprising, at one point the police chief single handily makes a joke about hollywood and the excessive need to remake perfectly good movie, a lot could have gone wrong with it but it was pulled off so it didn’t sound to over the top, and also combining things from Avatar, Back to Future, and Spider-Man into one sentence was genesis. I would definitely have to recommend this movie to everyone it’s just that enjoyable and stupid at the same time. It does have its flaws but nonetheless it was a well done movie that I really enjoyed.

8 out of 10

4 thoughts on “21 Jump Street Review”

Leave a Reply

