Game of Thrones Season 1 Episodes One and Two Review

I am reviewing this show now because I just picked up the blu-ray during the week and I thought I would in preparation for the new season premiering in a few weeks. I am reviewing the episodes as they appear on the discs, makes it easier for me. Lets get started, I read the first book before I started to watch the show but I’m not a long term fan since I only started reading them a year ago. I was incredibly impressed with what I was reading and I became a fan who was eagerly waiting for this show to begin. After the first episode I was hooked, just like the books, even though there were some liberates taken with the source material, which I’m fine with since there is so much to tell with a very limited amount of time to do so. What makes this show so riveting is how they tell a human and adult story in a fantasy setting, not like most fantasies magic and dragons are thought of being extinct and no one believes in them anymore, which is why I think this show has caught on with a large crowd. It is fascinating to see characters that I read on the screen, it brings my imagination to life in a way that I can’t describe.

The cable television series closely follows the multiple storylines of the A Song of Ice and Fire series, and author Martin has stated that the show’s pilot script was very faithful to his work. Set in the Seven Kingdoms of Westeros, Game of Thrones chronicles the violent dynastic struggles among the kingdom’s noble families for control of the Iron Throne; as the series opens, additional threats from the snow and ice covered region north of Westeros and from the eastern continent across a narrow sea are simultaneously beginning to rise.

Winter is Coming

From the beginning I was hooked by this show, the opening 10 minutes where absolutely breathtaking following close to the books to introduce a threat that will be important much later on down the road for the books and the show. This episode really just introduces the audience to the characters and the moral dilemma that the all face and the plot that sets the rest of the show up. We get a look at the main players in this episode, including Eddard Stark (Sean Bean), the morally conflicted warden of the north, Robert Baratheon (Mark Addy) the king who tries to enlist Ned to be the right hand man of the king, Daenerys Targaryen (newcomer Emilia Clarke), one of the sole surviving heirs to the thrones of Westeros, and countless others. In this episode Dany is portrayed as a tortured girl, by her brother no less, who doesn’t seem that strong of a character but that last only for a little while until she matures into one of the series strongest characters by far. It is a show that revolves arounds it’s characters and develops vastly throughout the show. The plot is where the shows is at it’s strongest, it has layers of history of the realm and many other details about the families that are involved with ruling it. It soon becomes a conspiracy to usurp the crown by the evil and cruel Lannister, the Queen and her siblings.

10 out of 10

The Kingsroad

This episode continues the development of the character who were not given much screen time in the first episode and it was a great way to continue the series. I have to be honest, the best part was when Tyrion Lannister (Peter Dinklage) smacked the young prince, his character is one that just annoys me but that is how he was written and thats the way he is meant to be. This episode dives deeper into the conspiracy that has Catayln Stark (Michelle Fairly) wondering the circumstance of he son’s mysteries fall from the tower and believes the Lannister are involved. Dany begins to mature a lot in this episode, we see he being used by her husband Khal Drogo (Jason Momoa) but as the episode progresses she begins to take control of her life and the seat of power that has been forced upon her, this is where she begins to develop the most and I have to say she is truly starting to become a powerful female character that I thought the show might not have, even though I knew that they would become more powerful as it progressed. Right now this show remains my favorite show on Television and I can’t wait to see what season 2 has in store.

9.5 out of 10

One thought on “Game of Thrones Season 1 Episodes One and Two Review”

Leave a Reply

