Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance Review

Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance

Directed by: Brian Taylor and Mark Neveldine

Starring: Nicolas Cage, Idris Elba, Johnny Whitworth

 

When I went into this movie I really had no expectations and had some time to kill today so I went to see this, in 2D so I can save myself a headache from crappy 3D. Though I can say it is better than the first one that really isn’t saying much towards the film. It was never meant to be a film like the Dark Knight, but lets be honest a superhero with a flaming skull is going to be a tough movie to sell no matter what and the approach the directors took does make for some cool set pieces and action scenes but the focus of the movie is more towards Johnny Blaze dealing with the curse that is set upon him instead of a love interest and a pathetic villain and a crappy story line. If you see the movie remain oppertunistic about it, you will have more fun than.

Johnny Blaze, still struggling with the curse of being the Ghost Rider, is hiding out in a remote part of Eastern Europe when a secret sect of the church asks him to save a boy from the devil. At first Johnny is reluctant to use his power, but it’s the only way to save the boy and possibly rid himself of this curse forever. The plot is rather simple and doesn’t really change course from there. There is not much complex about and really doesn’t do much to evolve the characters in really anyway.

I do have to say that I did find myself enjoying the movie and found it to do much better representing the character, rather than the first. I have to say in the past I read some of the Ghost Rider comics and never really liked what I read. He isn’t a character that would have been easy to translate to the screen and he has had more movies produced than Daredevil, which I think is strange because Daredevil is a much more complex and exciting character. I do think that the directing duo of Neveldine/Taylor were best suited for the job and they pulled off what they set out to do. That being said Spirit of Vengeance is not a good movie nor is it bad it just resides in limbo and never really move up from there. For a fun saturday movie that you don’t wanna think during the process than this is the movie for you.

6 out of 10

Leave a Reply

